vtech apple

I’ve also been looking into one of the VTech Apple toys. This toy also has buttons for each letter in the alphabet. The feel to the buttons on this toy is wonderful and I think rather than bend this I’d like to MIDIify it because it would make a rad drum controller. It wouldn’t be velocity sensative but still would be really neat.

DSCN0945

This is a picture of the main board. What’s interesting about this is just like the vtech phonics pcb the main micro is on a separate board in the typical COB toy epoxy glob and then that breakout board just has a normal sort of DIP footprint soldered into the main board. I had not seen this before, but maybe since these are older toys this is what they used to do so they could re-use the same COB chip in multiple toys?

DSCN0969

Here’s a shot of the main button board. I’m thinking I just need to throw an extra micro in the case and hook it up to the button board and then translate that to the MIDI messages. We’ll see how all of this goes.

One last quick thing. Anyone interested in awesome noise toys or just great kids toys should check out a recent post on GetLoFi. They tipped me off to Target selling $13 dollar touch sensitive toy guitars. I went out and bought one and it’s really amazing for only $13. I’m sure I could think of some great projects to do with it as well.

Posted on July 9, 2008, in Circuit Bending, Electronics, Reverse Engineering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hey, did you ever get this to work out, im interested if you got the velocity pads to work. Id like to see the schematics of what you did if thats cool. Thanks

  2. How do I shut off the music on this device? I haven’t seen the schematic yet.

  3. Hey I have also been tinkering around with similar toys and came across a similar part on an old Barbie laptop toy,
    I always wondered if there was a way to get in there and mod / reprogram such a toy and now I got my hands on one, But when I opened it up Was really surprised, Now I am 100% sure that it is still possible one way or another, question is how? Would really appreciate some tips. :)

    -Thank You!

  4. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you, However I am going through
    issues with your RSS. I don’t understand why I
    can’t subscribe to it. Is there anybody having identical
    RSS issues? Anyone that knows the answer will you kindly respond?
    Thanx!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

